Eastern Switzerland Travel Guide

Guarda, Graubunden

The region of Eastern Switzerland comprises the cantons of Thurgau, St. Gallen, Schaffhausen, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Appenzell Innerrhoden, Glarus and Graubünden.

German is the spoken language in all cantons except Graubünden where German, Italian and Romansch are all official languages.

Popular destinations in Eastern Switzerland

St. Gallen – best known for its UNESCO World Heritage-listed Abbey Precinct, St. Gallen is the capital of the canton of the same name.  As well as the 8th century abbey, a twin-towered baroque cathedral and a library – with a breathtaking Rococo Hall – are other must-see sights of the Abbey Precinct.

Schaffhausen – located on the banks of the Rhine River and just a few kilometres upstream of the famous Rhine Falls, Schaffhausen is often referred to as ‘the city of oriels’. This is a reference to the 171 oriel windows that can be seen in the Old Town. Other highlights of a visit to Schaffhausen include Munot Fortress and All Saints’ Monastery.

View over Schaffhausen

St. Moritz – A world class ski resort, St. Moritz enjoys an enviable location in the beautiful Engadine region in Switzerland’s east. Twice home to the Winter Olympics, St. Moritz offers plenty for ski enthusiasts but it is also an idyllic destination to visit during the warmer months.

Hiking, golf and excursions to the nearby mountain summits to enjoy the spectacular views are just some of the most popular St. Moritz attractions during summer.

Appenzell – brightly painted houses and shops adorned with intricate wrought iron signs line the streets of Appenzell. The car-free town centre is ideal for strolling and savouring the atmosphere of a rural Swiss village.  Surrounding the town are lush green pastures where cattle graze, producing the milk that is used to make the famous Appenzell cheese.

Read all our travel guides for Eastern Switzerland by clicking on the links below …

Listen to our podcast episodes about Eastern Switzerland …